Grow Dates / Times

Important environmental information for growing here in Santa Clara county...

Astronomical Solstice/Equinox Dates

2020 Vernal Equinox: Thu Mar 19 2020 20:49:35 GMT-0700 (PDT)

2020 Summer Solstice: Sat Jun 20 2020 14:43:02 GMT-0700 (PDT)

2020 Autumnal Equinox: Tue Sep 22 2020 06:30:27 GMT-0700 (PDT)

2020 Winter Solstice: Mon Dec 21 2020 02:02:26 GMT-0800 (PST)

2021 Vernal Equinox: Sat Mar 20 2021 02:37:05 GMT-0700 (PDT)

Meteorological Dates

First day of spring 2020: Sun Mar 01 2020

First day of summer 2020: Mon Jun 01 2020

First day of fall 2020: Tue Sep 01 2020

First day of winter 2020: Tue Dec 01 2020

First day of spring 2021: Mon Mar 01 2021

Sun Information

For today, Saturday March 28 2020

Sunrise: 06:56:43

Sunset: 19:28:04

Transit: 13:12:24

Civil twilight begin: 06:30:35

Civil twilight end: 19:54:12

Nautical twilight begin: 05:59:44

Nautical twilight end: 20:25:03

Astronomical twilight begin: 05:28:11

Astronomical twilight end: 20:56:37

For tomorrow, Sunday March 29 2020

Sunrise: 06:55:13

Sunset: 19:28:58

Transit: 13:12:06

Civil twilight begin: 06:29:03

Civil twilight end: 19:55:08

Nautical twilight begin: 05:58:09

Nautical twilight end: 20:26:02

Astronomical twilight begin: 05:26:30

Astronomical twilight end: 20:57:41

Frost Dates and Growing Period

First frost date (2019): Sun Dec 08 2019

Last frost date (2020): Mon Feb 10 2020

Number of days in the 2020 growing season: 309

Note that frost dates are derived from historical patterns.