Grow Dates / Times

Important environmental information for growing here in Santa Clara county...

Astronomical Solstice/Equinox Dates

2024 Vernal Equinox: Tue Mar 19 2024 20:06:04 GMT-0700 (PDT)

2024 Summer Solstice: Thu Jun 20 2024 13:50:23 GMT-0700 (PDT)

2024 Autumnal Equinox: Sun Sep 22 2024 05:43:12 GMT-0700 (PDT)

2024 Winter Solstice: Sat Dec 21 2024 01:19:54 GMT-0800 (PST)

2025 Vernal Equinox: Thu Mar 20 2025 02:01:03 GMT-0700 (PDT)

Meteorological Dates

First day of spring 2024: Fri Mar 01 2024

First day of summer 2024: Sat Jun 01 2024

First day of fall 2024: Sun Sep 01 2024

First day of winter 2024: Sun Dec 01 2024

First day of spring 2025: Sat Mar 01 2025

Sun Information

For today, Friday April 12 2024

Sunrise: 06:35:57

Sunset: 19:40:49

Transit: 13:08:23

Civil twilight begin: 06:09:13

Civil twilight end: 20:07:33

Nautical twilight begin: 05:37:18

Nautical twilight end: 20:39:28

Astronomical twilight begin: 05:04:10

Astronomical twilight end: 21:12:36

For tomorrow, Saturday April 13 2024

Sunrise: 06:34:33

Sunset: 19:41:43

Transit: 13:08:08

Civil twilight begin: 06:07:46

Civil twilight end: 20:08:30

Nautical twilight begin: 05:35:45

Nautical twilight end: 20:40:31

Astronomical twilight begin: 05:02:29

Astronomical twilight end: 21:13:47

Frost Dates and Growing Period

First frost date (2023): Fri Dec 08 2023

Last frost date (2024): Sun Feb 25 2024

Number of days in the 2024 growing season: 281

Note that frost dates are derived from historical patterns.