Grow Dates / Times

Important environmental information for growing here in Santa Clara county...

Astronomical Solstice/Equinox Dates

2021 Summer Solstice: Sun Jun 20 2021 20:31:32 GMT-0700 (PDT)

2021 Autumnal Equinox: Wed Sep 22 2021 12:20:30 GMT-0700 (PDT)

2021 Winter Solstice: Tue Dec 21 2021 07:58:54 GMT-0800 (PST)

2022 Vernal Equinox: Sun Mar 20 2022 08:32:53 GMT-0700 (PDT)

2022 Summer Solstice: Tue Jun 21 2022 02:13:18 GMT-0700 (PDT)

Meteorological Dates

First day of summer 2021: Tue Jun 01 2021

First day of fall 2021: Wed Sep 01 2021

First day of winter 2021: Wed Dec 01 2021

First day of spring 2022: Tue Mar 01 2022

First day of summer 2022: Wed Jun 01 2022

Sun Information

For today, Wednesday June 16 2021

Sunrise: 05:46:46

Sunset: 20:30:53

Transit: 13:08:50

Civil twilight begin: 05:15:47

Civil twilight end: 21:01:53

Nautical twilight begin: 04:36:58

Nautical twilight end: 21:40:42

Astronomical twilight begin: 03:53:09

Astronomical twilight end: 22:24:30

For tomorrow, Thursday June 17 2021

Sunrise: 05:46:55

Sunset: 20:31:11

Transit: 13:09:03

Civil twilight begin: 05:15:55

Civil twilight end: 21:02:11

Nautical twilight begin: 04:37:05

Nautical twilight end: 21:41:01

Astronomical twilight begin: 03:53:14

Astronomical twilight end: 22:24:52

Frost Dates and Growing Period

First frost date (2021): Wed Dec 15 2021

Last frost date (2022): Fri Feb 25 2022

Number of days in the 2021 growing season: 292

Note that frost dates are derived from historical patterns.