Grow Dates / Times

Important environmental information for growing here in Santa Clara county...

Astronomical Solstice/Equinox Dates

2019 Summer Solstice: Fri Jun 21 2019 08:53:44 GMT-0700 (PDT)

2019 Autumnal Equinox: Mon Sep 23 2019 00:49:29 GMT-0700 (PDT)

2019 Winter Solstice: Sat Dec 21 2019 20:18:56 GMT-0800 (PST)

2020 Vernal Equinox: Thu Mar 19 2020 20:49:35 GMT-0700 (PDT)

2020 Summer Solstice: Sat Jun 20 2020 14:43:02 GMT-0700 (PDT)

Meteorological Dates

First day of spring 2019: Fri Mar 01 2019

First day of summer 2019: Sat Jun 01 2019

First day of fall 2019: Sun Sep 01 2019

First day of winter 2019: Sun Dec 01 2019

First day of spring 2020: Sun Mar 01 2020

Sun Information

For today, Monday May 20 2019

Sunrise: 05:54:23

Sunset: 20:14:26

Transit: 13:04:24

Civil twilight begin: 05:24:47

Civil twilight end: 20:44:02

Nautical twilight begin: 04:48:16

Nautical twilight end: 21:20:33

Astronomical twilight begin: 04:08:13

Astronomical twilight end: 22:00:36

For tomorrow, Tuesday May 21 2019

Sunrise: 05:53:43

Sunset: 20:15:14

Transit: 13:04:29

Civil twilight begin: 05:24:03

Civil twilight end: 20:44:54

Nautical twilight begin: 04:47:24

Nautical twilight end: 21:21:33

Astronomical twilight begin: 04:07:09

Astronomical twilight end: 22:01:48

Frost Dates and Growing Period

First frost date (2019): Sun Dec 08 2019

Last frost date (2020): Mon Feb 10 2020

Number of days in the 2019 growing season: 314

Note that frost dates are derived from historical patterns.